Lil Nas X Has Finally Finished His Album!


Aidan Polk

Lil Nas X’s album “MONTERO” was released Sept. 17, 2021. Lil Nas X has been working on this album for a long time. Fans have been waiting for this release since Lil Nas X stated the album was “almost finished” on July 7 2021. This album has been long awaited and is now getting lots of attention from the media, as well as fans.

“MONTERO” is composed of 15 songs, most of which are a mix of rap, pop, hip-hop, R&B, and rock. I’ve listened to the album and can say, first hand, this album is fire! 

My personal favorite song from “MONTERO” is “TALES OF DOMINICA”, a song showing deep emotion and heartbreak. Lil Nas X also introduced four new collaborations in this album, not including his previously released “INDUSTRY BABY” featuring Jack Harlow. “SCOOP” featuring Doja Cat, “ONE OF ME” featuring Elton John, “DOLLA SIGN SLIME” featuring Megan Thee Stallion, and “AM I DREAMING” featuring Miley Cyrus were all released Sept.17.

 Although these collaborations were loved by most fans, some were upset the album did not include a collaboration with the rapper’s idol Nicki Minaj. Nevertheless, the album was a hit.