Arizona’s Overall on Governors, Political Leaders and Political Decisions


Ash Espinosa

The state of Arizona located in the Southwest of the United States is governed by Doug Ducey, part of the Republican party, with the representatives of the state being Mark Kelly and Kyrsten Sinema, both part of Democratic party. 

Arizona’s former governors, counting the current governor since 1929 have consisted of nine Republican party members and 13 Democratic party members. A ratio of about 1:1.4. While these numbers aren’t greatly apart they could tell about the leadership of Arizona throughout the years. Governor Ducey re-ran for election on Nov. 6, 2018 and has been in office since, his current term ends on Jan. 1, 2023. 

The current two Senators Kelly and Sinema have been in office at different times. Sinema has been assigned to the Senate from Jan. 3, 2019 to 2025. Kelly assumed office on Dec. 3, 2020 with his term ending on Jan. 3 2023. The Arizona House of Representatives has 60 seats with the majority Republican (31) and minority Democratic (29). In the U.S. House of Representatives Arizona has nine congressional districts. 

Presidential elections occurred last year on Nov. 3, 2020 and continued for a few days afterwards. For this Arizona overall voted for Democratic candidate Joe Biden, the first democratic to win that’s been voted by Arizona since 1996. The voting results recorded 51.8 percent to Biden and to Trump with 46.9 percent, a difference of almost  5 percent. The vote numbers were 1,367,211 to 1,236,546 a difference of 130,665 votes.